WattFortress
Comparisons

EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra vs Tesla Powerwall 3: Which Should You Buy?

DELTA Pro Ultra vs Powerwall 3: capacity (DC vs AC), power, surge, solar input, install and warranty, compared from official spec sheets.

✓ Specs checked: 2026-10-17

WattFortress may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate disclosure.

These two products get compared constantly, but they come from different design ideas. Tesla's Powerwall 3 is a wall- or floor-mounted battery with a built-in solar inverter, installed by professionals and tied into your home's electrical service. EcoFlow's DELTA Pro Ultra is a modular inverter-plus-battery stack that can work as a very large portable power station or, with EcoFlow's Smart Home Panel, as a home backup system.

This comparison uses the manufacturers' published specifications. WattFortress has not lab-tested either product. The site's owner bought an EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra X (the newer, larger version of the DELTA Pro Ultra) with 4 batteries and is setting it up now; we note where the X differs. We'll add real measurements once it's running.

Quick verdict

  • Choose Powerwall 3 if you want a permanently installed, grid-tied solar-plus-battery system, plan to install or already have rooftop solar suitable for its built-in inverter, need strong motor-starting capability (185 LRA per Tesla), and want a 10-year warranty.
  • Choose DELTA Pro Ultra if you want to start with a smaller battery, move or reconfigure the system, plug in portable panels or a generator, or use it as a power station when not needed for backup.
  • Look at DELTA Pro Ultra X if you like EcoFlow's approach but need more power (12kW per inverter) or more solar input (10kW).

Spec comparison

Spec EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra Tesla Powerwall 3
Capacity per battery 6,144Wh (102.4V⎓60A), DC rated 13.5 kWh AC nominal (25°C, beginning of life)
Expandability Up to 5 batteries per inverter (30 kWh); 90 kWh with 3 inverters and Smart Home Panel 2 Up to 4 Powerwall 3 units per the NA datasheet we checked; Tesla also sells Expansion units, and newer datasheet versions list different limits, so confirm the current maximum with Tesla
Continuous output 7,200W per inverter; 21.6kW with 3 inverters 11.5 kW AC per unit (newer datasheet lists 5.8 / 7.6 / 10 / 11.5 kW configurations)
Surge / motor start 10.8kW surge 185 LRA load start capability
Voltage 120V/240V 120/240V split phase
Solar input 5,600W total: High-PV 80-450V/15A (4,000W) + Low-PV 30-150V/15A (1,600W) Up to 20 kW DC; 6 MPPTs; 60-550V input range; 60-480V MPPT range; 13A Imp / 15A Isc per MPPT
Backup switchover Backup UPS under 20ms; online UPS 0ms; under 20ms with Smart Home Panel 2 Via Gateway 3, Backup Switch or Backup Gateway 2; datasheet says "automatic disconnect for seamless backup" but lists no time in ms
Round-trip efficiency Not published on EcoFlow's spec page 89% solar to battery to home/grid; 97.5% solar to home/grid (CEC weighted)
Battery chemistry LFP Not stated on the NA datasheet we checked
Cycle life 80% capacity after 3,500 cycles Not stated on the datasheet
Weather rating IP54 NEMA 3R; IP67 (battery and power electronics), IP55 (wiring compartment); indoor and outdoor rated
Operating temperature -4°F to 113°F (-20°C to 45°C) -4°F to 122°F (-20°C to 50°C)
Weight Inverter 70 lb; battery 111.8 lb 287 lb
Certifications (as listed) UL 1973 and UL 9540 UL 9540, UL 9540A, UL 1741 (incl. SA/SB), UL 1973, UL 3741 and others
Warranty 5 years 10 years
Price List price on the manufacturer's site was $4,199 for 1 inverter + 1 battery as of Oct 17, 2026 Sold installed; no list price on Tesla's datasheet, get installer quotes

Capacity: DC vs AC, the comparison most people get wrong

EcoFlow lists 6,144Wh per battery. That is the battery's DC capacity. Tesla lists 13.5 kWh of AC energy, measured after the inverter. To compare them fairly, convert EcoFlow's number to AC using an inverter efficiency assumption.

At 85-90% efficiency (our assumption; EcoFlow does not publish a round-trip figure on the spec page):

  • 6,144Wh × 0.85 = 5,222Wh AC
  • 6,144Wh × 0.90 = 5,530Wh AC

So one DELTA Pro Ultra battery delivers roughly 5.2-5.5 kWh of AC energy before any reserve. Matching one Powerwall 3's 13.5 kWh AC takes about 2.5 DELTA Pro Ultra batteries on paper (13.5 ÷ 5.4 ≈ 2.5), which in practice means 3 batteries.

For the DELTA Pro Ultra X with 4 batteries (the owner's planned configuration), 24,576Wh × 0.85-0.90 = about 20.9-22.1 kWh AC, before reserve.

Power and motor starting

Powerwall 3 lists 11.5 kW continuous per unit and 185 LRA load start. DELTA Pro Ultra lists 7.2kW continuous and 10.8kW surge per inverter. Tesla's "LRA" (locked-rotor amps) and EcoFlow's "surge watts" are different measures, so they do not convert directly. If your house has a large central AC or a 240V well pump, ask each installer to confirm that system will start your specific equipment, ideally with soft starters where appropriate.

The DELTA Pro Ultra X raises EcoFlow's figure to 12kW continuous per inverter (36kW with 3), which narrows the gap. EcoFlow's DELTA Pro Ultra X spec table does not list a surge rating. Its product-page marketing copy says the Adaptive Start feature handles "surges up to 45kW", but that is not a published inverter surge spec, so check with EcoFlow before relying on it for motor starts.

Solar

This is the biggest structural difference.

Powerwall 3 has a built-in solar inverter for up to 20 kW DC across 6 MPPTs, and its datasheet lists PV rapid shutdown using Tesla Mid-Circuit Interrupters. It is designed for permanent rooftop arrays installed to code.

DELTA Pro Ultra accepts solar directly into its own inputs: 5,600W total from one inverter, with a High-PV input (80-450V) and a Low-PV input (30-150V). That makes it easy to connect portable or ground-mounted panels. EcoFlow also says it can work with existing rooftop panels alongside the Smart Home Panel 2; its footnote says this applies to users who have not installed a solar inverter. DELTA Pro Ultra X goes to 10kW of solar per inverter (two 80-500V, 15A inputs at 5kW each). For per-input string math, see How many solar panels in series.

We did not find grid export or net-metering capability stated on EcoFlow's spec pages, and the DELTA Pro Ultra X page says surplus solar goes to the battery rather than being "sold back to the grid". If export matters to you, ask EcoFlow and your utility before buying.

Installation and permitting

Powerwall 3 is installed professionally (check Tesla's site for who installs in your area), connected to your service with one of Tesla's islanding devices (Gateway 3, Backup Switch or Backup Gateway 2), and typically permitted and inspected.

DELTA Pro Ultra can be used with no installation at all, as a large power station with extension cords. For whole-home backup with automatic switchover, it pairs with EcoFlow's Smart Home Panel 2, which EcoFlow says requires installation before use and offers as an installed bundle in some areas.

Either way: anything connected to your home's wiring must be installed by a licensed electrician, with permits and inspection where required. Rooftop solar must meet NEC requirements, including rapid shutdown.

Flexibility vs permanence

DELTA Pro Ultra's batteries and inverter are separate modules (inverter 70 lb, batteries 111.8 lb each). You can start with one battery and add more later, move the system, or take it out of the house. That flexibility is its main advantage.

Powerwall 3 is a 287 lb appliance mounted on a wall or floor, indoors or outdoors. Once installed it stays put, but it also takes up no floor space in the living area and is rated for outdoor installation.

Warranty

Tesla lists a 10-year warranty for Powerwall 3. EcoFlow lists 5 years for the DELTA Pro Ultra (and for the Ultra X). For a product meant to last a decade or more, that difference is worth weighing. We did not review either full warranty document, so read each one's terms, including any energy-throughput limits, before buying.

Cost

Prices move often and installation costs vary by home and region, so every price below carries the date we saw it. To compare fairly, get quotes for the same usable AC kWh and the same backed-up circuits:

Item DELTA Pro Ultra Powerwall 3
Hardware for ~13.5 kWh AC List price on the manufacturer's site was $7,999 for 1 inverter + 3 batteries as of Oct 17, 2026 Sold installed; get installer quotes
Smart panel / gateway See the Check price button Quoted by your installer
Installation and permits Varies; get quotes Varies; get quotes
Cost per usable AC kWh About $567 hardware only ($7,999 ÷ about 14.1 kWh usable AC, using our 0.765 factor on 18,432Wh), at the Oct 17, 2026 list price Depends on your quote

Tax credit: the IRS says the federal 25D Residential Clean Energy Credit (30%) is not available for property placed in service after December 31, 2025. State and utility incentives may still exist; check locally.

FAQ

Can DELTA Pro Ultra replace a Powerwall for whole-home backup? It can back up a home through EcoFlow's Smart Home Panel 2. Whether it covers your whole home depends on your loads and how many inverters and batteries you install. See How many kWh for whole-home backup.

Which is better with existing rooftop solar? Powerwall 3 is designed around its built-in solar inverter. If you already have a solar inverter, ask your installer about compatibility with each option. EcoFlow lists rooftop solar charging requirements (current transformers for the X version via Smart Home Panel 3 or Gateway).

Which is quieter? Tesla lists under 50 dB(A) typical at 1 m. EcoFlow describes DELTA Pro Ultra as silent for loads under 2,000W for up to 30 minutes, and lists under 30 dB at 0.5 m for the Ultra X at 4kW output.

Can I take DELTA Pro Ultra camping or to a job site? Yes, in principle, since it can run unplugged from the house. Its weight means it is a two-person or dolly move.

Product links: Check price EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra · Check price EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra X · Check price EcoFlow Smart Home Panel 2 · Check price Tesla Powerwall 3

Sources

  1. https://www.tesla.com/sites/default/files/pdfs/powerwall/Powerwall-3-Datasheet.pdf
  2. https://us.ecoflow.com/products/delta-pro-ultra
  3. https://us.ecoflow.com/products/delta-pro-ultra-x
  4. https://us.ecoflow.com/llms.txt
  5. https://digitalassets.tesla.com/tesla-contents/image/upload/powerwall-3-datasheet-na-en.pdf
  6. https://energylibrary.tesla.com/docs/Public/EnergyStorage/Powerwall/3/Datasheet/en-us/Powerwall-3-Datasheet.pdf
  7. https://www.irs.gov/credits-deductions/residential-clean-energy-credit
  8. https://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-standards/nfpa-70-standard-development/70